Broccoli Soup

My nephew is in love with broccoli soup … i know  its rare to find a  kid (he is 3 years old).. who loves vegs .. but he really does .. he even takes a piece of garlic bread and eats it with it … its fun to just watch him eating … well anyway I made this soup today just for him … its simple and tasty … to make it you will need:

– 1.5 to 2 lb broccoli .. around 700 gms … separated into florets

– 1 liter chicken stock

– 2 tb onion, chopped

– 1 big garlic clove, minced

– 3 tb flour

– salt and pepper

– 3 tb butter

– 1/2 cup cream…. for healthier version u can use milk or sour cream

butter, onion, and garlic

Start by adding the butter .. once melted.. stir in the onions and cook until translucent …

Then add the garlic and stir until fragrant…

add flour

Add the flour .. and cook for one 1 min … no need for it to change color .. just cook it a little ..

add stock

Then add the chicken stock …

whisk till thick

Whisk it all together until slightly thickened …

add broccoli

Add the broccoli and cook until tender … around 10 to 15 mins ..

puree everything

Using a blender or a hand blender .. puree everything to the consistency u like (chunky or smooth) …

Add cream

Before serving … heat the broccoli soup .. then add the cream .. and bring it back to a boil …

Broccoli soup

And thats it …

Serve it with a side of garlic bread

Enjoy 🙂 …

28 Comments Add yours

  1. bruleeblog says:

    I love cheddar cheese melted into cream of broccoli soup. Too bad I can’t have any right now. 😦

  2. fantastic blog

    the road to the heart is through the stomach

    keep it up

  3. limeandlemon says:

    Thank you Firoze Shakir … stay in touch 🙂

  4. limeandlemon says:

    Bruleeblog: And who wouldnt love that … i can imagine 🙂

  5. meeso says:

    Hey, I believe you.. my daughter really loves veggies, including broccoli… your soup really looks comforting and yummy!

  6. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx meeso 🙂

  7. Donna says:

    YUM!! This looks delicious! I enjoy all types of vegetable soups!! This sounds like a terrific version!

  8. Nina says:

    MMMmmm. Tasty. I’ll have to bookmark your site!

  9. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Donna … stay in touch 🙂

  10. Lubna Karim says:

    This is newly available veggie in the Indian markets now a days. Soup looks warm, comforting and refreshing…

  11. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Nina .. stay in touch 🙂

  12. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Lubna … Let me know if u get to try it .. 🙂

  13. kadeeae says:

    Is the bread in this photo from the previous post? Looks very tasty!!

  14. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Kadeeae … This bread is the No Butter Garlic bread … Its really simple to make .. let me know when u try it … 🙂

  15. eatinginisin says:

    Sounds delicious, and pretty easy, too! Now you’ve made me hungry!!

  16. limeandlemon says:

    lol well thats the case with most food blogs …. Thanx Eatinginisin…

  17. Sara says:

    I really like broccoli soup, I haven’t made it in ages. I’ll have to try your recipe!

  18. limeandlemon says:

    Its really tasty Sara .. let me know how it turns out when u try it .. … stay in touch .. 🙂

  19. Sounds delicious! I’m also a fan of broccoli soup, so I’ll definitely try it! Thanks for sharing it.

    Randolph Mase, Fiction Writer
    http://www.randolphmase.com
    http://twitter.com/randolphmase

    My Novels:
    Death on Broadway
    Death Beneath the Streets
    Death in Central Park
    Death in The Cloisters (under construction)
    Nathan Hale

  20. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Randolph … stay in touch 🙂

  21. townie says:

    I’ve been looking for a nice brocolli soup recipe for a while and this one looks just the job.. I’ll be giving this a try out next weekend 🙂

    p.s. thanks for the coment on my Lemon-Raspberry Muffins

  22. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Townie … Let me know how it turns out … Stay in touch 🙂

  23. julie says:

    What beautiful food you make! I’m making broccoli soup myself tonight and I’ll try your recipe, it looks delicious, like all your dishes. Thanks for sharing them…
    best wishes,
    Julie

  24. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Julie .. Im glad u like it … let me know how it turns out 🙂 .. stay in touch

  25. saddleshoos says:

    You also do such an incredible job of breaking the recipes down and photographing each step. You really need a book deal for your own cook book.

  26. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx alot Saddleshoos … maybe some day i will do that … im really glad you like it .. hope to get feedback from u when u try any recipe out … stay in touch 🙂

  27. culinspiration says:

    Aww, cute story. Broccoli soup is one of my favorites! I have another recipe you might like to try, which doesn’t have any cream, but is still very rich tasting. http://culinspiration.wordpress.com/2009/01/05/cream-of-broccoli-potato-soup/

  28. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx culinspiration … i will make sure to check out that recipe … stay in touch 🙂

Leave a Reply

