Another Eggplant Dip

This is a very simple dip to make … it can be done either by frying the eggplant .. or for a healthier version .. by grilling it … its very easy to make .. to make it you will need:

– 1 big eggplant,peeled and sliced

– 1 garlic clove, minced

– juice of one lemon

– 3 tb olive oil

– 1 green chili, chopped (optional)

– salt and pepper

slice into cubes

First … you prepare the eggplant … there is two ways … the way i did in the photo is by deep frying it …this is done by lightly salting the eggplant slices and placing it in a sieve for 15 mins so that all the liquids are released .. then you deep fry it until done ..

The other way is by brushing the eggplant slices with olive oil .. and grilling it until done …

After the eggplant is done .. slice it into cubes … and place it in a bowl ..

add to the bowl

Add the minced garlic, chili (if using) and the lemon juice …

add olive oil

Then add the olive oil … season with salt and pepper … and stir everything together …

eggplant dip

Serve with toasted pitta bread …

Enjoy 🙂 …

26 Comments Add yours

  1. NatKat says:

    thanks for stopping by 🙂 this sounds like a great dip, love how you use photos http://inthekitchencookn.wordpress.com

  2. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx NatKat … glad u like it .. lemme know how it turns wen u try it … stay in touch 🙂

  3. meeso says:

    I am loving your blog, so many awesome recipes… I LOVE eggplant!!!

  4. linesiya says:

    Oh, yum! I love eggplant. I’m definitely trying this 🙂

  5. Lubna Karim says:

    Wow yummy… Never tried a dip with egg plant. Thank you for visiting my blog and inviting me to your’s.

  6. Bhargava Geetika says:

    I am surely gonna try this dip…I’ve fallen in love with eggplants!!! 😀

  7. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Messo … im glad u like it … well this is very simple and easy to make … and turns out really tasty … its actually the second eggplant dip i post .. the first is Muttabal .. its with tahini sauce … and many more to come 😛 … stay in touch

  8. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Linesiya.. let me know how it turns out … stay in touch 🙂

  9. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Lubna … you really should try it .. it turns really tasty … 🙂

  10. limeandlemon says:

    Bhargava: lol … well im glad you did then 😀 … let me know when u try it … and stay in touch 🙂

  11. I have never been able to make an aubergine dip I’m 100% happy with. Perhaps this one will break that mould?

  12. limeandlemon says:

    Scott at Realepicurean: Possibly … its very simple … and very flavorful … let me know if u do try .. want to know what u think of it … stay in touch 🙂

  13. Maris says:

    This sounds really good! My favorite part is that it looks SO SIMPLE!

  14. Thanks for visiting my blog. I enjoyed looking through your recipes. The eggplant dip sounds great; I just had eggplant dip tonight!

  15. Abid says:

    Will make it sometime!

  16. limeandlemon says:

    Maris: It really is very simple to make … Let me know when u try it … stay in touch 🙂

  17. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Mediterranean Turkish Cook … stay in touch 🙂

  18. limeandlemon says:

    Let me know how it turns Abid 🙂

  19. feeding6 says:

    OH, so yummy looking! I am always looking for new ways to use egg plant!!! THANKS so much for sharing this!!!!!!!!

  20. limeandlemon says:

    Thanks Feeding6 … let me know how it turns out .. 🙂

  21. Kevin says:

    That eggplant dip looks really good!

  22. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Kevin .. stay in touch 🙂

  23. Becky says:

    This looks yummy. I’m hoping to get a large crop of eggplant this summer. Last year, we had about 2. It was a very poor garden!

  24. limeandlemon says:

    Hopefully it will be better this year … Let me know when u get to try it .. stay in touch 🙂

  25. Ishani says:

    Eggplant dip sounds very yummy & healthy too!!!
    I will try by grilling it….

  26. limeandlemon says:

    It really tastes good Ishani…let me know how it turns out with u … stay in touch 🙂

Leave a Reply

