Ground Meat Phyllo Pie

This is a recipe that my mom learned from a distant relative who lives in eygpt …  and while researching for a name for it i discovered that its actually of Turkish origin and is known as borek … wasnt really surprised after all alot of our cuisines are similar … its very easy to make and is perfect fo entertaining .. its really tasty and crunchy… to make it you will need:

– 1 pack phyllo dough ( 500 gms.)

– 1lb minced meat (beef or lamb .. whichever u prefer)

– 2 tb butter or ghee

– 1 small onion, chopped

– 1/2 cup bell pepper (capsicum), chopped

– 1 tb tomato paste

– 1/2 ts all spice

– Salt and pepper

– 3/4 cup milk

– Butter or Ghee (cant really say how much .. its for brushing between layers .. around 1/2 cup maybe or lesser)

melt butter then add onion

We will start by making the filling …

So in a pot melt the butter or ghee… then add the onion and cook until translucent …

Add minced meat and brown

Add the minced meat and stir until cooked …

add bell pepper

When the meat is cooked … add the bell pepper(capsicum) and stir well …

add tomato sauce

Now season the mixture with the all-spice,  salt and pepper .. then add the tomato paste … and mix well .. then set it aside ..

place 1st layer

Now for the pie itself ..

Melt the extra butter or ghee and set it aside…

Brush a baking sheet with the melted butter … then place a sheet or two of phyllo dough … and brush it again with butter …

Place second layer and brush

Repeat placing the phyllo dough sheets and brushing with butter between layers until half the amount of dough has been used …

place the filling

Then place all the filling (minced meat mixture) … and spread it to cover all the dough …

keep layering

Then again repeat with layering and brushing with butter between layers until the phyllo dough is over …

add milk

Now i did the mistake of brushing the last top layer with butter … but u shouldnt … instead … add the milk to it .. .. this will help it get a nice golden color…

add milk

I know 3/4 of a cup might seem like alot of milk to add … but its not … this makes it moist enough for u to be able to slice it later on … if u dont add it .. it will be too crisp and will break when u slice it ..

Bake it at medium heat for 30 mins … until the bottom and top are golden color …

Borek or groung meat phyllo pie

Let it cool down a little .. then slice it into squares ..

Enjoy 🙂 …

60 Comments Add yours

  1. megan says:

    This looks delicious, and very simple to make. I’ll be trying it next time I go to the grocery store!

  2. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Megan … let me know how it turns out when u get to try it .. 🙂

  3. Oh, yum! I think they make something like this in the book Pomegranate Soup, it is a novel that ends each chapter with a recipe.
    I love they way you show step by step photographs with your recipe, very Jacques Pépin!

  4. biz319 says:

    Wow, I’ve never heard of that before!

    I used to be afraid of phyllo dough – not anymore!

  5. limeandlemon says:

    Thanks Whatcheernetop… Im glad u like it … stay in touch 🙂
    Oh yea … I got curious about the book “Pomegranate Soup” and googled it … it sounds like a very interesting one … 🙂

  6. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Biz319 … Well phyllo is a very easy dough to handle ..that only thing is that u have to make sure it doesnt dry out … and that as simple as covering it with a towel … let me know what u think of it when u get to try it … stay in touch 🙂

  7. kirsten says:

    Hiya! Thanks for visiting our blog. We will add you on our blogroll.

    cheers
    Dan and Tuesday

  8. Amanda says:

    Oh that looks so GOOD!!! I can’t wait to try it!

    Amanda (Flavors of Home)

  9. Donna says:

    I have not heard of this, but it sure looks tasty. I bet it is wonderful with the phyllo!!

  10. heyclaire says:

    Another hit! Your blog is so professional-looking. I love coming here. This is another one of your recipes I will definitely be making. I have used phyllo dough and, for me, a little canola oil in between layers works fine and has less cholesterol ( my problem). Tomorrow I will be trying out your dough recipe, and I may use this filling idea and shape it into a football shape for this Sunday’s Super Bowl. I’ll let you know how I make out.

  11. melt19 says:

    Hi Laila, looks yummy. I’ve been buying this from the farmers market outside my office, but now I’ll have to try making it myself.
    Melissa (Little Beans)

  12. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx kristen …. stay in touch 🙂

  13. limeandlemon says:

    Amanda: Thanx alot … let me know how it turns out … stay in touch 🙂

  14. limeandlemon says:

    It sure is Donna … its nice and crunchy .. emmm .. u really should give it a try 🙂

  15. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Claire … let me know how it turns out .. 🙂

  16. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Melissa … let me know how it turns out when u get to try it … stay in touch 🙂

  17. laurennichole says:

    This sounds wonderful! Always looking for new ground beef recipes. I’ll have to definitely try this out!

  18. Thank you for stopping by ~

    This is a great site! Love your recipes. I’ve tacked you onto my blog so I can visit often. 🙂

    Printed a few recipes out…this one sound very good.

  19. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Laurennichole …Let me know how it turns out .. 🙂

  20. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Sleepycathollow … im glad u like it … let me know if u try anything from my blog … stay in touch … 🙂

  21. sarabclever says:

    I have been trying to clear out the freezer and in fact was wondering today what to do with that phyllo dough I bought. Burek, yum! I had it in Bosnia (where it must obviously be coming from the Turkish influence)–there was cheese, spinach, meat, and even potato (talk about carbohydrates: a potato burek? But filling). Thanks for the great idea!

  22. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Sarabclever …glad to hear from u again … well u r right .. it has alot of different fillings and i know its not the healthiest thing to eat .. but it sure is tasty … let me know how it turns out .. and stay in touch 🙂

  23. Elra says:

    I love this B’stilla, it’s my family favorite. I normally make this with ground lamb. Never tried it with beef though. It must tastes delicious too.
    Cheers,
    Elra

  24. limeandlemon says:

    Thank you Elra … stay in touch 🙂

  25. Cas says:

    Oh wow! This looks wonderful! *drools* I will definitely be trying this one… thank you.

  26. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Cas … let me know how it turns .. 🙂

  27. barefootster says:

    I wish it’s easier to find these type of ingredients. Am dying to try these recipes, phyllo, tabbouleh, hummus… I miss these kind of food. Thanks for stopping by 😀

  28. limeandlemon says:

    I hope u get to find the ingredients Barefooteter.. maybe there is a specialty store or something … well stay in touch 🙂

  29. NaplesGirl says:

    Hey Laila –
    I haven’t used phyllo dough before. I have been a little afraid to tackle a recipe with it. But you have convinced me to try. Keep up the great posts!

  30. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx NaplesGirl.. glad to hear from you again… i used to be afraid of using it too but its actually very easy to handle … just make sure to get a good brand … you really should try it … Let me know how it turns out … 🙂

  31. Mina says:

    yummy!!!! sounds right up my alley….!

  32. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Mina .. stay in touch 🙂

  33. This looks incredibly delicious! I may have to face my fear of phyllo and give it a try.

  34. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Chef Danielle … let me know how that goes 🙂 … and stay in touch

  35. heyclaire says:

    Yummy and easy!! What more could you ask for?

    Love all your authentic meals!!

  36. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Claire … 🙂

  37. Narendra says:

    hey thats so nice of you..now i need to show this to my mom….cant resist….god!!!

  38. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Narendra… Im glad u like it … Let me know how it turns out when u get to try it ..Stay in touch 🙂

  39. Narendra says:

    can vegetables be substituted for that meat??i mean vegetarian and all..!you kno..!!!

  40. limeandlemon says:

    Yea i think it can work .. but i never personally tried it .. There are people who fill it with even spinach and cheese … but i think if u try it with vegs it will turn nice … maybe saute the onion with carrots, potatoes (all cut into really small cubes) .. Then add the bell peppers, spices and tomato sauce … I think this will make a good filling … i will even try to make this soon 😛 .. let me know how it turns out when u get to try it … 🙂

  41. ilanadavita says:

    That looks great!

  42. food-cook says:

    hi again.
    looking good as always. for those who keep dailry from meat.
    you could use margerine instead of ghee or butter.

    thanks!

  43. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Food-cook … hope u try it and let me know how it turns 🙂

  44. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx ilanadavita 🙂 … stay in touch

  45. US says:

    Hi, I’m just passing by via alphainventions.

    Your blog has some nice elaborate recipes, and I very much like the fact that the pictures don’t look manipulated or stylized like they usually do in traditional cook books (if they have pictures).

    Keep up the good work.

  46. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx US … im glad u like it … stay in touch 🙂

  47. meeso says:

    Yum, I am so glad to have found all these recipes, so tempting and delicious!

  48. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Meeso … let me know when u get to try it ..:-)

  49. Wow! Put anything between phyllo, and I’m happy! This sounds wonderful! There’s something about the combination of lamb, dairy and dough that is very comforting!

  50. limeandlemon says:

    Onlinepastrychef: it sure is a comfort food … simple to make … and very tasty … let me know if u try it … 🙂

  51. Sarah says:

    i love phyllo. never knew about the milk thing though! i think i might try this out.

  52. limeandlemon says:

    Let me know how it turns Sarah .. 🙂

  53. carolg1849 says:

    All your recipes are mouthwaterinly gorgeous, I just adore this kind of food. So Many interesting recipes that I will enjoy trying out. Thanks for sharing

  54. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Carolg1849… Im glad you like it .. let me know how it turns out 🙂 .. stay in touch

  55. Laila ~ this turned out very good. I made it last night for dinner. The only thing I did different was the addtion of some feta cheese that I had to use up soon…so I added it on top of the meat mixture before add the top layer of phyllo.

    I made a salad of sliced cucumbers and red onions with garlic red wine vinegar to go along with it.

    My husband says Thank You for sharing the recipe. He’s quite enjoying all the new recipes that I’ve been trying.

  56. limeandlemon says:

    Im really glad you enjoyed it .. i bet the feta gave it a nice taste … and your salad sounds like a delicious side dish … im really happy with your feedback 😀 … stay in touch 🙂

  57. Dexter says:

    Very good recipe..keep em coming…cheers

  58. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Dexter …stay in touch 🙂

Leave a Reply

