Kofta With Tahini Sauce

As I promised before … i will be posting more kofta recipes … and many have asked me when am i goin to .. so finally … here is one …This time its with tahini sauce ….  i think by now everyone knows what tahini is … its sesame seed paste … and is used in many dishes around the lavent countries … one of which everyone knows “hummus” … so to make kofta with tahini sauce .. you will need:

Kofta

– 3/4 cup tahini paste

– 1/2 cup lemon juice

– 1/2 cup water

– Two large potatoes … sliced thinly

– 1 tb vegetable oil

– salt

spread and make indentation

Alrite .. im gonnna start at this step … u can refere to previous steps in the previous kofta recipe … its just that u spread the kofta in a 10-inch pan and make indentation in it ….

making tahini sauce step1

Now to make the tahini sauce …

In a bowl … add the tahini and then add the lemon juice to it …

making tahini sauce step2

Stir it well… it will become a very thick paste … then u add the water ..  

making tahini sauce step3

Mix it all well into a quiet watery sauce.. season with salt …. and set it aside …

place potatoes on top of the kofta

Place the sliced potatoes on top of the kofta and add 1/2 cup of water .. cover it with alluminuim foil …and bake it at medium heat … Until the potatoes are done

Check if potato is done

Test the potatoes to make sure its done .. dont over bake or the meat will dry out …

add tahini sauce

After the potatoes are fork tender … add the tahini sauce and bake it again uncovered about 30 mins … this is to reduce the sauce …

Kotfa with tahini

Thats it … serve it with pitta bread or any other type u prefare …

Ps. there is another way of making it at stove top but without potatoes … its simpler .. u simplly shape the kofta into balls .. then  bake until done … then in a pot add the meat balls and the sauce and bring to a boil until it reduces  .. and serve …

Enjoy 🙂 …

22 Comments Add yours

  1. Christy says:

    Very interesting. So you live in Dubai? How cool is that? I have watched all kinds of TV specials about really interesting stuff over there. Your site is pretty cool too. One of these weekends when I need some comfort food instead of diet food I should try to make one of your dishes. Keep up the cooking! 🙂

  2. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx christy … well yea dubai is a very interesting place to live in .. very fast growing … you should visit it some time … and about my blog .. let me know whenever u get to try anythin … stay in touch … 🙂

  3. crazeecook says:

    Thanks for checking out my ‘Thai Curry in a hurry’. Kofta in Tahini sounds really interesting, I might try the stovetop method.

  4. limeandlemon says:

    Im glad u like it Crazeecook … let me know how it turns out when u make it .. 🙂 .. stay in touch

  5. chunkychic says:

    I’ve been perusing your blog and there are some beautiful recipes here that have my tummy growling. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  6. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx chunkychic … Im glad u like iit … let me know when ever u try somethin … stay in touch 🙂

  7. sarabclever says:

    Hi Laila,

    Thanks for visiting our blog we have (me and my sisters). I love middle eastern food and will definitely be checking your site again. It’s cold here in Boston right now so I can only imagine sunshine in Dubai, but maybe a little food will help a mental escape.

  8. limeandlemon says:

    Hay Sarabclever… well its always sunshine here .. sometimes its too much too 😀 … but i know its better than being locked up because of snow .. and food always helps in both conditions … let me know if u try anythin on my blog .. stay in touch 🙂

  9. Yum! We have a name for this here, it’s called “shepherd’s pie.” My grandma used to make it a lot. She would have LOVED this version. Can’t wait to try. PS-Thanks for your comment!

  10. limeandlemon says:

    Im glad u like it fivefingerfeast … u r the first one who compares it to a shepherd’s pie … but its true … never thought about it though .. thats interesting … well let me know what u think when u get to try it … stay in touch 🙂

  11. food-cook says:

    this looks great and the photos are very helpful
    thanks!

  12. limeandlemon says:

    Thank you food-cook

  13. sounds very interesting! I´ll try it! Thanks for the recipe 😉

  14. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Suesse-mehlzeit … Let me know how it turns out … stay in touch .. 🙂

  15. lizzielove says:

    Kofta’s a favorite of mine! Can’t wait to see more of your recipes…

  16. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Lizzielove … Let me know how it turns out when u get to try it … and stay in touch 🙂

  17. happygrub says:

    I really love ur recipes, I’ll try them out once my new kitchen is fixed up, we r in the midst of moving houses right now..

    Could I just ask are there Arabic names for the dishes you make like this for example? They are so different from the “standard” Arabic dishes found at restaurants. I suppose its what people really eat at home isn’t it, how fascinating..

  18. limeandlemon says:

    HappyGrub: I try to mention as much names as i can .. for example this one is called Kofta Bi Tahini .. “bi means with” … i will make sure the arabic name is there too next time i make a post … and you are right .. this is home cooking .. u wouldn’t really find it in restaurants … most restaurants would have the appetizers such as the kibbi, tabbouleh, fattoush, hummus and so on … or the sandwiches .. like the falafel, shawarma, etc … added to that the BBQ stuff … but these i never till now saw a restaurant that sells it .. its different and really tasty .. and i even consider it healthy to a certain extend .. as vegs are always the main part in our meals …
    Im really glad you will be trying some recipes and i will be waiting for your feedback on it …
    congrats on the move … all the best 🙂 .. stay in touch

  19. Monica says:

    Hi, I’m a mexican married to a Lebanese and currently living in Lebanon. I have tried this recipe cooked by my mother-in-law… it’s soo delicious. This is the first time i’m going to make it (inshallah), so wish me luck! Oh, and i would like to ask if you can also add onions or pine seeds to it?? .. Thanks for your blog!! It;s very needy!!! 🙂 God bless you!

  20. Sherrill says:

    Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed!
    Extremely useful information particularly the last
    part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was seeking this particular information
    for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  21. Very good article. I’m going through a few of these issues as well..

Leave a Reply

