Healthy Chicken Basil Salad

This salad is very light and healthy … it contains a good amount of vegetables .. and i usually add alot of lettuce to it and eat it without bread … just as a salad … its really easy to make and very filling … to make it u will need:

– 2 cups cooked chicken, chopped

– 1/4 cup celery, chopped

– 1/2 cup red pepper, chopped (or any other color u like)

– 4 tb fresh basil, chopped

– 3 tb green onion, chopped

– 3 tb light mayonaise or light salad dressing (i used light italian dressing this time)

– 2 cups lettuce, chopped (this is optional .. u can skip the lettuce and make it into a wrap sandwich)

all vegs

In a bowl … add the celery, red pepper, basil, green onion, and lettuce ..

If u want you can skip adding the lettuce as i said before and just make it into a normal chicken salad or even make it into a wrap sandwich …

add chicken

Now add the chopped chicken .. what i did was that … i cooked chicken breast in olive oil and green onion .. then seasoned it with a little nutmeg, salt and pepper.. then let it cool down and added it ..

add dressing

Then add the salad dressing of choice … u can use mayonaise, ranch, mayonaise and mustard… any dressing u like .. this time i used italian dressing ..

If u like u can even make your own dressing by mixing lemon juice, olive oil, a tiny garlic clove, a shallot, and salt and pepper …. but ofcourse .. if u dont have time on hand its the easiest to just get ready made ones…  

serve chicken salad

Mix everything well ….

And serve ….

Enjoy 🙂 …

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Ricki says:

    Hi Laila,
    Thanks so much for your comment on my blog, and for reading! The pancakes were actually super-easy to make and add so much to a simple meal–well worth a try. And those coconut cinnamon chips you posted earlier look AMAZING. I am definitely going to try them out! 🙂
    Ricki

  2. luvsclassics says:

    Hi, the chicken basil salad sounds delicious.
    I like Tabouleh, too. First tried it at a Greek Festival at a Greek church in New Brunswick,N.J.; I went to the store to find the bulger to prepare my own. I love fesh lemon juice with it.

  3. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Ricki … i will definetly try to make ur pancakes … let me know what u think if u try any of my recipes … 🙂

  4. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Luvsclassics … both salads are VERY healthy and easy to make … let me know if u try any out .. 🙂 .. stay in touch

  5. sophiabrittan says:

    Hi Laila,
    I love the way this salad looks! It is exactly the type of thing I like to eat.

  6. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Sophia .. Let me know what u think wen u try it too .. or anythin else on my site 🙂

  7. heyclaire says:

    I loved the idea of this healthy recipe. And, so decided, per your suggestion, to make it into a wrap. ~~ Except, I used the lettuce leaves as the “bread”. So, so good and nice and crunchy!

  8. supermom says:

    I may just try this with the leftover chicken from tonight’s supper. It sounds like it would make a delicious light lunch.

  9. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx claire … im glad u liked it … this salad recipe can be really versitile … u can make it in many different ways …. I love ur idea of eating it in a lettuce leave as a wrap … sounds better than my way of cutting the lettuce 😀 …. stay in touch 🙂

  10. limeandlemon says:

    It sure is a light lunch Supermom … im glad u liked it …. stay in touch 🙂

  11. Trinny says:

    Found you on Alpha Inventions – great cooking blog, so I´ll be back! Trinny

    http://trinklebean.wordpress.com

  12. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx trinny …. let me know what u think 🙂

  13. listgirl says:

    Laila – Thanks for checking out my blog. At first, I thought you were my brother’s girlfriend, who is also a Laila. This salad looks light and delicious and appears to be a perfect antidote to my mac and cheese!

  14. limeandlemon says:

    Hay listgirl … lol well there happen to be more than one laila 😉 … Im glad that u liked the recipe .. let me know when u get to try it … stay in touch 🙂

  15. Megan says:

    Looks very fresh and yummy! In fact, I’m hungry now… need to stop at the market on my way home!

  16. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Megan … Let me know how it turn out 🙂 … stay in touch

  17. critterkeeper says:

    Beautiful photos. What a great site…think I may become a regular here.

  18. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Critterkeeper … Im glad u like it … stay in touch 🙂

  19. minutesforme says:

    hye laila.thnx 4 reading n commenting! ur blog seems interesting. i would like to try the chicken salad. hee.. do u hava any recipes on pasta??

  20. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx minutesforme … so far i only posted one pasta recipe … Pasta With Sausage And Peas … Let me know when u try it .. stay in touch 🙂

Leave a Reply

