Safiha (Mini Meat Pie)

Safiha is a traditional dish .. its made in palestine, syria, jodran and iraq …. ofcourse not all of them make it the same way .. but its the same idea … its basically dough that has spiced meat on it …. it might look intimidating but its actually quiet easy to make … but bear with me there will be alot of photos so i can explain it well enough 😉 … to make it u will need:

My dough recipe (Triple the recipe) 

– 1 pound ground or minced meat

–  1 big onion, chopped finely

– 2 big tomatoes, chopped finely

– 1 tb tomato paste

– 1 tb sumac (its a sour spice … i think u can find it in speciality stores)

– 1 ts all spice

– Salt and Pepper (to taste) … plus more for tomatoes and onions

ingredients

While u are waiting for the dough to rise … place the tomatoes and onions in a sieve and add a little salt to it … we want them to release all there liquids so that the dough doesnt get too wet when we bake it.. so wat we exactly do is after placing it in a sieve and adding salt .. u press it with the back of a spoon every once in a while … until it releases enough juices .. this will take nearly half and hour …  

adding ingredients

 Then in a bowl .. mix the meat, tomatoes,  onion, sumac, tomato paste, salt and pepper.. be careful not to add alot of salt as the tomatoes and onions already have some …

mix meat

 Mix the meat well .. best way is with your hands so that u make sure everything is well incorporated …

making dough into balls step 1

Now .. we make the dough into 2 to 2 1/5 inch ball shapes… this is the way we make it… but u can do it how ever way u r comfortable with … first hold a peice of the dough in one hand … and with the other hand take the amount of dough u want ..

making dough into ball step 2

Press the dough between your thumb and index finger … forming a ball …

making the dough into balls step 3

 And there u have it … keep repeating until the dough is over …

puttin meat step 1

 Then take the meat mix (about 2tb each).. and without flattening the dough … u simply press it down …  so first place it …

puttin meat step 2

Then press it down …. very firmly …

puttin meat step 3

 Follow the photos one by one and you will understand what i exactly mean …

puttin meat step 4

And there u have it …. You have to make sure that the meat is well pressed down … or when baking the meat will pop out of the dough …

Before baking

If the meat mixutre finished and u still have some dough left … u can simply flatten it out .. then spread cheese mix on it …

after baking

 Bake it on medium heat for half an hour …. or until its golden from down …. then with the broiler on until the top is golden too and the meat is done …

and close up

Serve right out of the oven with pickles and olives …

Enjoy 🙂 …

26 Comments Add yours

  1. ryuutsuchi says:

    This recipe is interesting since I’ve never eaten any middle eastern foods much. Having a lot of photos is very helpful and you’re bombarded by words. 🙂

  2. limeandlemon says:

    Thank you … im glad to introduce u to few of our recipes … and im just trying to make it seem as simple as i possibly can … let me know if u ever try any of my recipes 🙂

  3. Hello Laila, I discovered your blog on Alpha Inventions. This all looks very delicious.

  4. limeandlemon says:

    Thank you … im glad u like it …. if u r planning to try it let me know wat u think 🙂

  5. okathleen says:

    They look great, I see you all the tme on Alpha Inventions, how?
    http://www.okathleen.wordpress.com

  6. limeandlemon says:

    Thank you .. i just add my link thats all 🙂

  7. Noor says:

    YUMMY I love meat pies, yours are so nice and neat mashAllah. I added you to my blog roll can not wait to check your site out some more.

  8. feeding6 says:

    Hello! THANKS for visiting my blog yesterday! What an interesting blog you have! Great looking recipes… I will have to try this one, maybe with some different seasonings… It looks very yummy!!!! Can’t wait to see what else you make!

  9. limeandlemon says:

    Thank you noor … I will make sure to add u to my blogroll too so i dont loose ur contact … stay in touch … 🙂

  10. limeandlemon says:

    Thank you .. i know sumac is not easy to get anywhere .. it just gives the recipe a slight sour taste … but u can use which ever spice u want … let me know what u think of it when u get to try it … stay in touch 🙂

  11. grace2882 says:

    I love this. I am definitely going to have to follow this blog. I will have to modify a few things to make them low carb but you offer such a variety that I am sure that I can do this easily.

  12. bmerry says:

    Thanks Laila! I your recipe here as well. I’ll definitely try it one of these days very soon!
    Keep up the good work!
    Bmerry 🙂

  13. Becky says:

    I cannot wait to try this!

  14. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Grace …. accuallly alot of our food is low carb … so u will find me posting alot of stuff that are already low carb … and most of it is relatively healthy and contains a lot of vegs … stay in touch 🙂

  15. limeandlemon says:

    Thanx Becky and Bmerry … 🙂

  16. mommybee says:

    YUM! I have never seen these before- but I think I’ll be making it this next week, looks wonderful!

  17. limeandlemon says:

    thanx mommybee … let me know how it turns out 🙂

  18. Umm Ibrahim says:

    These look fantastic especially the ones with cheese. are they similar to the Middle Eastern pastries I have had that are triangular filled with spinach and sumac and others with cheese/labnah/chicken etc?

  19. limeandlemon says:

    You are right … but each filling has different dough recipe .. inshallah i will be posting more pastry recipes … let me know if u try any out .. stay in touch 🙂

  20. onestopcook says:

    Hi Laila,

    These look delicious! Kind of like mini pizzas. I also read your dough recipe and you’re right, it can be used for many different things. I’ve never really been introduced to Indian food before so I will be coming back to learn more.
    I know you say sumac is a sour spice and I was wondering what it is made from, I’m trying to visualize the taste in my head. Can you also let me know what some of the most commonly used spices are in Indian food? I know about allspice, cumin, curry, turmeric and a few more but I would like to learn more. You know from looking at my blog that I obviously like to cook and would like to try something new. Thanks and keep in touch 🙂

  21. limeandlemon says:

    Hay Onestopcook…
    Im really glad u liked my blog … but i need to correct u with one thing … this isnt indian food .. this is middle eastern .. its very close to meditirranian food .. by that i mean similar to greek and turkish food .. we use alot of spices in our food .. but not as much as indian … our cuisine is very different than indian cuisine but the only thing that is similar is that we use nearly the same spices but different amount…
    About the sumac …it comes from a plant .. its dark purple in color .. and looks like a round flat seed … but its always sold in ground form … its very sour and we use it in several dishes … its like using lemon .. but without it being liquid .. and has a slight taste to it ..
    The other spices that we use are alot .. some of them are cumin, tumric, cardamom, cinnamon, clove, saffron etc … and we use alot of herbs too in our food … keep checking and u will understand wat i mean …
    I saw your blog and its very interesting … i could see that you enjoy cooking as much as i do …. so if u have any other questions i will gladly answer it … stay in touch … 🙂

  22. onestopcook says:

    Hi Laila,

    Thank you for correcting me… I will call it Middle Eastern food from now on instead of Indian, sorry about that.
    It looks interesting and I will be experimenting in my kitchen with some of these spices, of course I will be coming here to learn more about middle eastern food and how to prepare it. Do you have any good recipes for couscous?

    Thanks and talk to you soon,

    David

  23. limeandlemon says:

    Hay david …
    Thanx for dropping by again … and im glad u r thinking of trying something new.. and u will be amazed at how some spices can change an entire dish .. about couscous .. yea i do have a couple of recipes .. didnt post any yet though .. will try to post some soon .. stay in touch .. and let me know if u try anything … 🙂

  24. michael says:

    hi you didnot write the daugh amounts thank u please explain how u make the dough

Leave a Reply

