My Basic Dough Recipe

Hay,

So this recipe is my go to dough recipe. I tired a lot of different dough recipes until I settled for this one as my favorite. I don’t really remember how i got it, I think I did through a friend. Anyhow through years of experimenting I now use this basic dough recipe in many ways. It can be used for pastries, pizza and many more. Its simple to make and you will find me referring it in many recipes to come. So to make it you will need:

– 2 cups All Purpose Flour

– 2 tablespoons of  Olive Oil

– 1 tablespoons of Fast acting Yeast

– 1 teaspoon of Sugar

– 1/4 teaspoon Salt

In a mixing bowl, add the flour then all the remaining ingredients.

Add enough water to knead it,the amount of water you use depends on the flour. Usually for me it take around one cup of water. What you are looking for is a smooth dough that doesn’t stick to your hand when you touch it.

Just in case you add extra water by mistake and it gets too sticky. Don’t worry add a little flour to get the right consistency.

Once the dough is well kneaded, place it in a lightly oiled bowl. Wrap the bowl with a towel and leave it in a warm place for half an hour to rise.

To know if the dough is well risen, just make an indentation with you finger. If it stays in then its well risen and if the dough rises again then you should give it more time.

Now that the dough is risen, its ready to be used in any way you wish.

This is one of my main recipes that I use a lot and you will find me referring to it in future.

Happy cooking! and as we say in Arabic ” Sahha wi Afia”

8 Comments Add yours

  1. localizing says:

    Your basic dough recipe is like the pizza/foccacia dough recipe I use! My recipe calls for a bit more flour, but other than that it’s the same. I think this kind of dough is really wonderful because you can make it into anything – pizza, calzones, focaccia, breakfast pizza.

    Your blog is lovely – I’m very glad I found it.

  2. limeandlemon says:

    Thanks Localizing … You are right … it can be made into many things .. and its real easy to make … it can be even doubled, tripled.. and turns out just perfect every time… let me know if u get to try anything from my blog.. and stay in touch 🙂

Leave a Reply

